Tags

, , , , , ,

“Your genetics load the gun. Your lifestyle pulls the trigger.”, Mehmet Oz

I presented this quote to my clients in group therapy session the other day, and it really got their attention. It lead to a great discussion. Both how it is metaphorically written and it’s powerful message is captivating. Personally, I have been working on revamping my lifestyle in efforts to get closer to my individual goals. It has not been easy; by no means is this a stress-free mission. However, once I got the ball a-rolling and started bringing attention to the gang of pink elephants in the room, my motivation towards positive change increased.

I know I am not the only person who has tried blaming their family for their limitations/shortcomings. Not to discredit the major impact of one’s environment on development, but regardless of one’s upbringing, change is possible. This quote reinforces just that. It is through change that things happen and can propel you onward. How inspiring! So quit making excuses and stop playing the blame game.

I am curious as to how many people can relate. How many of you have defied the odds and spearheaded change within a maladaptive family system? Considering my family history and the non-traditional things I was exposed to as a child, who would have thought I would be the beautiful, educated, and successful woman I am today? I am truly blessed! Feel free to share…

