Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you believe in fate or do you believe you can control your own destiny?

Briskly walking down this long road of the unknown with fear in my heart, but courage in my eyes, I make the trek! I figure, Hell, I can see and have common sense. Yea, Yea, I know what I want versus what I don’t want. I am an able-bodied person and have enough life experiences to deal with whatever I may encounter along the way, right? Right.

Thus far my journey has consisted of countless situations that have taken me both over rocky mountains and into lush valleys; both through heavy storms and through green pastures under sunny blue skies lined with rainbows. I have had the opportunity to both win and lose. I have experienced grief and loss, guilt and shame; thank goodness for the pride and joy, happiness, fulfillment, and sheer bliss that I have also experienced.

One thing I have managed to learn along the way is that the more I would try to control my life, the more challenging and disappointing it would become. Some things are what they are. When I would simply allow things to take their natural course, my blessings would be revealed and I would be more fulfilled. It was through my line of work that I was introduced to the “Serenity Prayer”. The prayer reads as follows:

“God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.”

I find it important to keep the prayer in mind as I travel along…..Remembering the prayer at opportune times definitely helps to reduce unwanted anxiety.

I, like some other people, believe that things happen for a reason, but a lot of us are not centered and/or open enough to receive life’s precious gifts and/or receive life lessons. To answer the Daily Prompt question, I do believe in fate; whatever will be, will be. It’s just that sometimes that belief is questioned and challenged whenever I feel compelled to try to control my destiny.

I am aware this prompt was posted about three weeks ago, but it was too thought provoking to pass up. Hope you enjoyed reading!

DP:queserasera

