Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m laying in my warm comfy bed, after a rather long day, alone, unfortunately or fortunately depending…and I started to really give thought to something interesting that happened today. This occurred this morning, but it didn’t really resonate with me until a few moments ago. Lol, so of course I immediately figured I should blog about it. (Out of respect I had to get permission first) So, this cool guy, we can call him a friend, he’s sort of been around in my life for a few years, reached out to me, “as a friend”. At first he sent me a YouTube video of a new song titled, One In A Million. (Anyone who knows me, knows how much I like to jam!) Lol! But this was followed by some pretty deep thoughts, via text, about how much I meant to him and how he’s wondered if he would ever have a chance to have a “closer relationship” with me. He presented sincerely; he wasnt referring to just sex,  but definitely something more.

Moving on, he says he has “always respected our friendship boundary”, but has always been “very attracted” to me. He goes on to say that he “always knew” my last relationship wouldn’t last because, “based on how you would talk about you and whatever his name is, I could tell that though you may have loved him, he didn’t really love you and that you deserved better, not to say that I’m better or what not, but, I just wanted to let you know that I paid attention hun. I just didn’t want to say it because I didn’t want to damage our friendship.” Ok, I didnt see that coming.

I want to mention that all of his texts included lots of much appreciated flattery, which very was nice. Then, near the end of the conversation he said, “I hope you aren’t upset. I know you cared for that dude, but I DO love you and would treat you a million times better than him.” My responses in between his texts were minimal. I said things like, “uh huh”, “hmmm”, “ok”, “I see”, “um, thank you”…. I’m sure he knows I wasn’t trying to be rude or dismissive. I was just trying to take it all in, in the midst of a busy day at work. It was thoughtful and can be taken as sweet, right? But I wasn’t exactly sure of how to feel at the time I was receiving the messages and now I just feel, I don’t know, I think I need to sleep on it. Before writing this post, I was honest with him and told him I didn’t really have a direct response right now, but wanted to blog about it, if he didn’t mind. I appreciate that he gave me the go, as he knows I would absolutely be respectful of his feelings and identity. (Insert Law & Order chime lol)

I’m curious to any feedback anyone would have??? Have you ever experienced a situation such as this? I guess, I just find it enlightening when learning of another’s perspective. The differences between how others view you and/or your situation vs. how you view yourself, in my opinion, is always something to take a look at as a part of one’s personal growth. Hmmm, another thing I’m thinking as I continue to write is that it took some huevos aka balls to be honest about his feelings, which is something we all have an internal battle about when deciding to truly express ourselves to others. As a matter of fact I can totally understand how he may be feeling right now. If you take a look at my previous blog post titled, Can We Talk?, you would get my point here. Only when you find someone worth it would you go to great lengths for them, I guess like how he is right now. Hmmmmm…..

Special thanks to my friend for #1, feeling comfortable being honest with me and #2 supporting me in being able to share this with readers. 🙂 No, I’m not upset, actually; everyone is entitled to their opinions. I’m willing to hear him out, maybe after I fully process this.

So, readers any thoughts? Don’t be shy now. Is he a knight in shining armor? Or is this in poor taste? One more thing I’ll add is that he said “regardless of what anybody thinks they have to say on this”, he doesn’t take back anything he said today, because “at the end of the day, I’m your friend”. But, I’d be lying if I said things didn’t get just a tad bit awkward for me here. We cool, but just being transparent here.

I mean friends should be able to be honest with each other, right???

Oh, here’s the song, enjoy!  I was grooving tho!

