Inner Critic

What does your inner critic say to you and how does it affect your ability to take risks? If you had to name your inner critic, what you name it?

The above prompt was shared to me by one of my best friends and sorority sister, @LambdaLady2 (Twitter).  She stated that one of her coworkers posted these questions on her gchat and I take it my sister here was pondering this morning.  So she sent it my way and suggested I consider preparing a response and blogging about it.  Well, alright, why not? 😉

The above questions are rather deep and if you’ve followed my blog you would notice that I tend to be quite introspective and engage in self-reflection and self-evaluation on the regular.  My response to this will not be a lengthy one; I have hit what my inner critic sometimes hollers at me in previous blogs, so I’ll provide a general overview.

That pesky inner critic that sometimes declares war on my psyche can be downright brutal. Not only is it quick to highlight my short-comings and limitations, it doesn’t hold back in detailing what I could have done either better or differently in every situation I encounter. Sometimes it talks to me in a negative tone, even making the strong claims that I will not make it or I’m not good enough or even that I’m undeserving.  It even takes jabs at my family tree, comparing and contrasting me with both the past and present, emphasizing our downfalls as a family unit (Ouch).

As I write this, several different life incidences are playing back in my mind where my inner critic has absolutely affected my ability to take risks, but I’m smiling here because I have used my dear inner critic as jet fuel to get me where I am today.  Looking back, I believe my inner critic hindered me more significantly as a younger person.  I believe I really started growing up in the past year or two and have more confidence when I respond to it. I can look my inner critic in the face today, ya know?  Yea, no more shying away; I’m a big girl now.  LOL. Yea, today, I believe in myself and even when I get thrown off my path or I start toying around with my inner critic’s little homie, self-doubt, I’m able to put things back into perspective and keep my eyes on the prize.  I do tend to get what I want, eventually.

Hmm, what would I name my inner critic you ask? Right now, the name Charlie is coming to mind.  Sike, nah. LOL. I would call it “Motivation”, yea, that is fitting!

As always, thank you for stopping by.  Feel free to comment. Great Prompt!  Thanks @LambdaLady2 for sending!   

2 thoughts on “Inner Critic

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑